Adriaan Bax (Plenary)

Adriaan (Ad) Bax was born in 1956, in The Netherlands and became a US citizen in 1999.  His Ph.D. thesis was reprinted in book format and for many years served as a popular text, introducing students to the application of two-dimensional NMR in chemistry. Bax joined NIH in 1983, where he has been working on the development and application of a wide variety of advanced multi-dimensional NMR techniques to problems of biochemical and biomedical interest.  His group spearheaded the introduction of triple resonance NMR spectroscopy of 13C/15N-enriched proteins, developed the now standard joint analysis of 15N R1, R2, and NOE for characterizing protein backbone dynamics, and introduced the first methods for weakly aligning proteins in a magnetic field by the use of liquid crystals.  Bax’s work has been recognized by numerous awards, including 2018 Welch Award in Chemistry. In 2002, he was elected to both the National Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Joel Garbow (Plenary)

Dr. Joel Garbow is Professor of Radiology, Washington University in St. Louis, and is Associate Director of Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology’s Biomedical Magnetic Resonance Laboratory (BMRL). Garbow received his PhD in Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, working in the laboratory of Professor Alexander Pines. Before joining Washington University in 2000, he spent more than 15 years at Monsanto Company, rising to the rank of Science Fellow and head of Monsanto’s MR laboratories. With more than 40 years of experience in magnetic resonance imaging and spectroscopy, Garbow is well-recognized and respected for his work in magnetic resonance as applied to intact biological systems. Garbow’s research interests include the development and application of novel MR methodologies for the study of cancer and radiation-induced brain injury in pre-clinical, small-animal models and the use of innovative MRS and MRI methods to quantify placental function and competence.

Elaine Holmes (Plenary)

Elaine Holmes (PhD) is a Premier’s Fellow and Professor of Computational Medicine at Murdoch University having recently moved from Imperial College London where she headed the Division of Computational and Systems Medicine. Her main research area focuses on applying metabolic profiling and computational modelling of biofluids and tissues to understand pathological and physiological disease processes. She has applied the technology in several clinical and biomedical areas including Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes, Infection, Gastrointestinal Disease, Early life environment and neurodegeneration. She co-developed the concept of the metabolome-wide association study (MWAS) and is currently driving new methods for the integration of metabonomic data with proteomic and transcriptomic data is order to gain a holistic overview of disease process. She has particular interest in the identification of biomarkers of metabolic diseases and obesity and much of her current work focuses on the role of the microbiota in promoting obesity and liver disease. She is a founder director of Melico, a startup company that operates in the personalised nutrition space and is a visiting professor at Sam Pablo Universidad CEU Madrid, King AbdulAziz University Saudi Arabia and the Chinese Academy of Sciences Wuhan China.  She has authored over 450 papers and books in metabolic profiling and chemometrics. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and has won several awards including the Royal Society of Chemistry Interdisciplinary Award and Lifetime membership of the Metabolomics Society. Her current focus is to develop metabolic profiling capacity in Western Australia and apply it to both population and precision medicine.

Professor Jeremy K. Nicholson (Plenary)

Professor Nicholson obtained his PhD in Biochemistry from King’s College, London University (St Thomas’s Hospital Medical School) in 1980. After several London University appointments (Full Professor, 1992) he became Professor and Head of Biological Chemistry at Imperial College in 1998. Appointed Head of the Department of Surgery and Cancer in 2009 developing new real-time point of care diagnostics with a large team of surgeons, critical care internists and cancer physicians. He became the Director of the world’s first National Phenome centre in 2012 (The MRC-NIHR National Phenome Centre) and was made Emeritus Professor of Biological Chemistry at Imperial in 2018. He is currently the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences at Murdoch University and Director of the Health Futures Institute and the Executive Director of the Australian National Phenome Centre. He has authored 800+ peer-reviewed papers on spectroscopy, and systems medicine and is one of the pioneers in metabolic phenotyping. Research focus is on development of translational diagnostic and prognostic technologies for personalised healthcare, nutrition, microbiome-host metabolic signalling in metabolic diseases. He is a current and past Clarivate-ISI Highly-Cited Researcher in Pharmacology and Toxicology (H index = 122). Awards include: Royal Society of Chemistry Silver (1992) and Gold medals for Chemical and Medicinal Technology (2002); RSC medal for Chemical Biology (2003); RSC Interdisciplinary Prize (2008); RSC Theophilus Redwood Lectureship (2008); Pfizer Global Chemistry Research Prize (2006); The Semelweiss-Budapest International Prize for Biomedicine (2010). Elected Fellow of The UK Academy of Medical Sciences (2010); Honorary Lifetime Fellow of the International Metabolomics Society (2012); Honorary Member of the US Society of Toxicology (2013); Albert Einstein Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2014); Elected Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (2018); Doctor of Science Honoris causa, (2019), Hong Kong University.  Nicholson holds honorary professorships at 12 Universities around the world and was recently appointed as a special advisor to the Minister of Health in WA.